Sonic Adventure XBLA Review

By
in Games
Published September 25, 2010 at 7:02 pm

A proud child of the 80's, I grew up playing Sonic the Hedgehog games lovingly on my Master System 2. I had my first gaming experience, my first speed run, and my first gamers cramp all with Sonic and Sonic 2. I was one of those people outraged when Nintendo started releasing Mario & Sonic stuff, I come from a generation where it was EITHER Mario OR Sonic. Never both. You had to pick your allegiance and stick with it until death staked its claim. Having missed out on Sonic Adventure the first time around (on DreamCast), I jumped at the chance to see first-hand what I had skipped.

Worms: Reloaded Review

By
in Games
Published September 16, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Nothing brings me back to my childhood faster than some well-placed dynamite to the face. Aaah. Good times. Worms. Starting out as the pipe dream of a single game designer, Andy Davidson, those little smart mouths have squirmed a long way in fifteen years. From publishing and development via Team17, all the way to capturing the imagination and free time of just about every PC gamer for the past decade and a half.

 

 

Commander: Conquest of the Americas Review

By
in Games
Published August 10, 2010 at 12:16 am

Commander: Conquest of the Americas brings fun, easy, and invigorating naval battles to the forefront of strategy gaming... wait, that sounds familiar. For those that remember the clunky and overcomplicated navies of Empire: Total War, Commander sails past its strategic counterpart as the more exciting, less glitchy victor.



Vizati Review

By
in Games
Published June 21, 2010 at 12:48 am

Remember those old cartoons where two people are playing chess and one looks away, only to turn back and see that the board has been rotated in his opponent’s favor? Vizati’s fundamental mechanics revolve around something which normally feels like cheating – tilting and rotating the field to your liking.

Din's Curse Review

By
in Games
Published June 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm

YADG is an acronym that I have coined for games like Din’s Curse and Torchlight. Even though Din’s Curse reflects the core attributes of yet another Diablo-esque game, it takes a vital step away from its industry brethren and toward the evolutionary world of dynamic gameplay.

Machinarium Review

By
in Games
Published June 13, 2010 at 12:07 am

Machinarium is a quirky game, starring a quirky character. Cast out from his city, Josef (a neglected robot) takes center stage as he attempts to work his way into the metropolis from whence he came. Although the story takes a backseat to mind-frying puzzles and uncanny artwork, the little robot – with your help – must be reunited with his girlfriend, and stop some baddies from detonating a bomb within the city. Thrilling, right?

Legio Review

By
in Games
Published June 11, 2010 at 4:00 am

Imagine a turn-based strategy game with stats reminiscent of early RPGs, topped with the classic strategic gameplay of Chess. It would be the perfect “thinker’s game,” an ideal mix of brain-melting strategy and modern age game design. But who would make such promises? Legio did.

Alien Breed: Impact Review

By
in Games
Published June 11, 2010 at 2:06 am

Aliens force you into a corner, gnawing at your shiny codpiece and clawing at your rifle. Your back hits the wall – that’s it, you’ve officially run out of room. Toss a ‘nade an’ look away. Coast is clear. You catch your breath and start to heal, that’s when the wall behind you explodes with slimy, crawly nasties. Nothing is more horrific than that, especially the codpiece gnawing, *shudder*.

Alien Breed: Evolution Review

By
in Games
Published May 30, 2010 at 1:43 am

Massive space ships flooded with aliens? We've done it in Diablo's Dungeons, Doom's eerie turns, and even against Halo's Flood. What makes this different?

Advertisement:

  VigLink badge