Games

Costume Quest Review

By
in Games
Published November 10, 2010 at 12:44 am

Costume Quest was one of those games that truly snuck up on me. I pride myself on keeping up-to-date on all the things entertainment, especially when it encompasses the industry that pays me! That in mind, imagine my shock when I found out about the development of a game from one of my favourite developers only three days before it was due to come out! Yeah, uhhh... Dropped the ball on that one. Double Fine is led by the now-legendary Tim Schafer, best known for imbuing greatness within such titles as The Secret of Monkey Island (with the help of Ron Gilbert and Dave Grossman), Grim Fandango, Psychonauts, and most recently, Brütal Legend.

Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition Review

By
in Games
Published November 04, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Biting the pointy ear clean from a taunting elf's temporal bone, stopping to drink the refreshing blood, and then stampeding down the field with a spiked ball tucked safely under the armpit of an Orc: that's Blood Bowl. However, Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition is a bit more sophisticated; the new release encompasses the sprawling expanse that is Warhammer's race system. In total, there are now twenty playable races - eleven of which are fresh to the pitch, to include: Norse, Undead, Ogres, and Amazon.

WWE Smackdown vs. RAW 2011

By
in Games
Published October 27, 2010 at 12:42 am

According to the previous titles of WWE games I'm supposed to “Know my role” and “Shut my mouth.” I don't take kindly to demands.

I've been a fan of wrestling ever since I can remember. I vividly recall thinking the 'unannounced visits' from Hulk Hogan or other superstars were truly unexpected. Unlike the Easter Bunny or Santa though, wrestling never got worse once I finally realised that it was all staged. I never doubted the skill required in wrestling, but I did know that when Hulk Hogan hoisted chairs over his head and initiated the pummel sequence, the target was fully prepared for his impending 'doom.'  It was this synergy between wrestling and theatrics that compelled me to obtain the very first WWF: Smackdown! game in 2000. I played that game until the characters were burned into the memory banks of my brain; everything was there: the histrionics, the dramatic entrances, the signature slams, and most importantly, the finishers. There was nothing better than watching the little cutscene as The Undertaker grabbed The Rock and executed the Tombstone Piledriver. I cackled with glee when my brother's face reacted - he could do nothing to halt my imminent victory. Yuke's has consistently released wrestling games every year, and this year's iteration, WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011, promises to have the same crunchiness of the past coupled with the advancements of this generation's gameplay. The experience Yuke's gained from UFC: Undisputed 2010 added immeasurably to the development of Smackdown vs. Raw.

The Ball Review

By
in Games
Published October 25, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Rustic Aztec scenery flanked either side of a lone, unintentional adventurer and his trusty mining equipment; the opening view extracted fond memories of the old television show, Legend of the Hidden Temple, complete with monkeys and mummies. Following the increasingly popular evolutionary path from mod to commercial game, Teotl Studios sets players out on the most engrossing delve into subterranean ruins we've ever seen. After receiving honors in the 'Make Something Unreal' contest, hosted by Epic Games, Teotl is now releasing their humble modification as a full-blown title for $20.

Sonic the Hedgehog 4 - Episode 1 Review

By
in Games
Published October 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

If absence makes the heart grow fonder, then dragging Sonic back through the time-stream is like sticking a steak through mine.

Sonic the Hedgehog 4 – Episode 1 is the first true Sonic game in over a decade. The last one being Sonic the Hedgehog 3 (and Knuckles) for the Sega Mega Drive (or Genesis for you Americans). More recently, Sonic Adventures has been released on XBLA, although it is not necessarily related to this review. This new game shows a return to the standard 2D style of Sonic games that we all know and love. Sonic the Hedgehog started life in 1991 on the Master System and Game Gear and spiralled quickly into video game legend along with Mario, his Nintendo counterpart. It was this early game that got me hooked on video games for life. I spent many hours in front of that TV screen, perfecting speed runs, defeating Dr. Robotnik (as he was affectionately known as back then), and just getting as much as I could out of a game that I cherished so much.

Super Meat Boy Review

By
in Games
Published October 20, 2010 at 11:11 pm

A currently disbarred Florida attorney once claimed that playing First Person Shooters drives people to killing other people. I disagree. I think 'Super Meat Boy' does.

Super Meat Boy had simple, humble beginnings as a small flash game on Newgrounds, which has amassed close to 900,000 views so far. Its player-base grew even bigger, accumulating plays by more and more people across the globe. The simple design coupled with hardcore gameplay made it a hit with just about everyone who stumbled upon its tiny hiding place within that vast sea that is the Internet. That small flash game, Meat Boy, would eventually grow until it got a publishing deal, first from Nintendo, then Microsoft. These deals would cement their status in arcade game history. Whether you enjoy Super Meat Boy or not, the fact that it exists on the Xbox Live Arcade at all is phenomenal. Edmund McMillen and Tommy Refenes are legendary developers in the making.

Amnesia: The Dark Descent Review

By
in Games
Published October 20, 2010 at 7:08 pm

If H.P. Lovecraft made a video game, Amnesia: The Dark Descent would be it - it's the scariest game I've played in recent years. Unlike any other game I have played, Amnesia gives you no means of fighting back. Now, that might sound stupid, but being defenseless versus big-mouthed monsters helps the horror ten-fold; instead of fighting, you'll spend your time hunting for hiding places - closets, boxes, or dark corners seem to trick the nemeses effortlessly. Aren't demons supposed to have a good sense of smell? In most games you star as some near-invincible gun toting bad-ass, but in Amnesia you're just a normal guy. Immersion elevates Amnesia above most other games in the horror genre.

Alien Breed 2: Assault Review

By
in Games
Published October 01, 2010 at 10:35 am

Good thing nobody can hear you scream in space, I know I was doing plenty of it.

Alien Breed 2: Assault is the second episode of the epic story started in Alien Breed: Evolution and Impact last year on Xbox Live Arcade, arriving this year on Steam and Playstation Network. You play as Conrad, an engineer on the severely damaged spaceship Leopold which has crashed into a vessel of unknown origin. Your main objective is to follow the commands of an android named Mia and restart/fix various components of the ship's mechanisms in order to escape. Naturally, nothing's ever that simple and there are plenty of alien hordes to fill with a good measure of bullet spray. Alien Breed 2: Assault starts where Alien Breed left off: With the Leopold (that's the ship we're rooting for) joined at the hip with an alien ship, Conrad is desperately trying to dislodge his ship from the unknown alien vessel. Hilarity is bound to ensue.

Sonic Adventure XBLA Review

By
in Games
Published September 25, 2010 at 7:02 pm

A proud child of the 80's, I grew up playing Sonic the Hedgehog games lovingly on my Master System 2. I had my first gaming experience, my first speed run, and my first gamers cramp all with Sonic and Sonic 2. I was one of those people outraged when Nintendo started releasing Mario & Sonic stuff, I come from a generation where it was EITHER Mario OR Sonic. Never both. You had to pick your allegiance and stick with it until death staked its claim. Having missed out on Sonic Adventure the first time around (on DreamCast), I jumped at the chance to see first-hand what I had skipped.

Worms: Reloaded Review

By
in Games
Published September 16, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Nothing brings me back to my childhood faster than some well-placed dynamite to the face. Aaah. Good times. Worms. Starting out as the pipe dream of a single game designer, Andy Davidson, those little smart mouths have squirmed a long way in fifteen years. From publishing and development via Team17, all the way to capturing the imagination and free time of just about every PC gamer for the past decade and a half.

 

 

We moderate comments on a ~24~48 hour cycle. There will be some delay after submitting a comment.

Advertisement:

  VigLink badge